The Circle Maker

I am really excited about where I see our church family going in the next month and beyond.

For most of 2011, God began speaking to me about wanting to take me further in my prayer life than I’ve ever been. He began showing me that the dreams He had given me for my life, my family, and my church were impossible unless He brought them to pass. My dependency upon Him began to grow. And slowly, I was driven to prayer more often. It began to come naturally to me as I saw no other way.

In October, I had the opportunity to hear a pastor named Mark Batterson speak at a session at Catalyst Conference. He pastors National Community Church in Washington, D.C. I had heard him before, and every time I liked him. What he had to say always spoke to me. I was inspired by his messages and his books I’ve read. But this particular session was special.

Mark shared the story of an ancient Jewish sage named Honi who became famous for saving a generation of Jews (one generation before Jesus) from a devastating drought through a prayer that was bold and made him look silly. But it was necessary… and it worked.

While he shared the story and then the application for our prayer lives, I was internally challenged. The Holy Spirit was doing something inside me. He was reminding me how foolish and impossible my dreams are without His intervention. He was reminding me that nothing is impossible with God. He was calling me back to prayer.

I am currently reading the book and letting the Holy Spirit speak to me as I meditate on how it communicates Gods Word to me. I have found it more natural to lead my wife in prayer, my kids in prayer, and to “pray without ceasing.”

I really look forward to this next chapter in my life and ministry. I can’t wait to see where God takes us as we learn to depend on Him and circle His promises in prayer.

Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for. Keep on looking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And the door is opened to everyone who knocks.   — Jesus in Matthew 7:7,8

Tags: , , , , ,

About Andy Brown

I am: * A follower of Christ (a relationship I truly don't deserve) * A husband to a beautiful wife (who is waaaaaaaaaaaay out of my league) * A father of five amazing whipper-snappers (that's right, I said five. I really like my wife ;-) * A sports enthusiast (go Huskers! Royals! Chiefs!) * A man who is learning what it means to truly "live by faith." (I know what it means to fail and I'm learning that faithfulness to my Savior and living in His amazing grace are the secrets to success.)

Leave a Reply

